Go Here Test

More Diets

Go Here Test

Wild Rice

Wild Rice: Main Image


Two types of wild rice are available today: foraged wild rice harvested from the rivers and lakes of the Great Lakes region, and hybrid wild rice, which is farmed in California, Idaho, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Ontario. Foraged wild rice has its bran layer partially removed.

Wild rice is available in three grades: (1) “Select,” which contains short broken grains; (2) “Extra-fancy,” which has uniform, half-inch-long (1.3cm) grains and is the variety most commonly available; and (3) “Giant,” the most expensive, with grains that are uniformly one inch (2.5cm) in length. All grades can be used interchangeably.

Each brand of wild rice has its own particular flavor, so if you have tried some very strong or bitter types, experiment with different brands to find the variety that best suits your taste.

Copyright © 2024 TraceGains, Inc. All rights reserved.

Learn more about TraceGains, the company.

The information presented in the Food Guide is for informational purposes only and was created by a team of US–registered dietitians and food experts. Consult your doctor, practitioner, and/or pharmacist for any health problem and before using any supplements, making dietary changes, or before making any changes in prescribed medications. Information expires December 2024.